It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:18 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Would I be happier with a laser?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:59 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Mark,

I found out about your site from the knife posts on Chowhound. I also started to develop yearnings for something I probably don't need from the various posts on Chowhound. I am not a professional chef. I do not work with my knife for hours each day. But I do all the prep and cooking at home, mostly for my wife and myself, but also when we entertain. I have some good Victorinox knives, one from Dick, a flexible fish filleter from Wüsthof, various boning knives, and two Japanese knives that I bought years ago from Korin. Of the two Japanese knives, I don't recall what one of them is called, but it resembles pictures of Hattori knives I've seen on the internet. The other is a 270mm Glestain. The Glestain is my best knife, and I am very satisfied with it, but it weighs 330 grams. Would I be happier with a knife that weighs less than 200 grams? There are a couple of so-called lasers that I am salivating after. Am I completely nuts, or are these knives as great as people claim?

In any case I need some sharpening materials. Do I need something as expensive as an Edgepro, or can I do as well with individual stones and an angle cube?