It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:24 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: My First Purchase
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:29 am 

To whom it may concern,

I'm a young prep cook looking to acquire my first high quality knife, I found the CKTG website via the Youtube channel of MrKnifeFanatic. ( http://www.youtube.com/user/MrKnifeFanatic )

1. Are you right handed? - Yes, Right Hand Dominant
2. What type of knife are you interested in (gyuto, nakiri etc..) - Gyuto/Chefs Knive, maybe a santoku.
3. What size knife are you looking for? - 210mm, maybe 240 if it the extra length isn't unwieldy
4. Do you prefer carbon or stainless steel? - I don't know a lot about steel but carbon steel seems to get sharper then SS, I'm willing to put in the time to keep is maintained.
5. Do you prefer a western handle or a Japanese handle? I've never used a Japanese knife before, but as long as it feels good in the hand.
6. How much did you want to spend? - 150 to 250 USD
7. Do you know how to sharpen? - Not Yet, I'm still mastering honing.

More information below