It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:49 am

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: speed Chopping.
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:36 am 

I have been noticing that all the knife videos I stumble upon on and around this site feature someone like racing to show how fast they can rough chop an onion or other vegetable. I am a line cook, so I chop a lot of stuff (we make like 100gallon batches of broth, chicken, veal demi and remouillage, and others every week or so) and I have worked with a lot of cooks and not once have I seen anyone chop stuff the way people do in these knife videos. I am curious if anyone one of you all have seen any cooks or chefs chop like this. I am wondering if i need to step my game up or if it's just for show in videos.

PS I am not knocking CKTG in anyway. I love this site, just got a set of stones from here and they are great.

Post subject: Re: speed Chopping.
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 7:24 am 
Forum Moderator

It's also called "machine gunning" and it's fun to do. Many of the videos you have seen are professional chefs. Do all of them do it at work all of the time? No. it gets pretty tiring after a while and in the long run, slowing down will increase your consistency and be more able to sustain that over the long haul. It's much harder to control size and get uniform cuts at that speed, but some can do it. I can usually get pretty consistent, but there are pieces that aren't the same size occasionally.