It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 4:35 am

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: How many strokes per progression
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 7:39 pm 

Ok just wondering about how many strokes you normally do per progression? I'm new to the edge pro have only done about ten knives so far. Have been nothing but impressed by the results. After starting with the stock stones 120, 220, 400, 600 and 1k I decided to buy the chosera stones 3k, 5k, and 10k. Wow! This website has changed my whole idea of sharp. The burr is pretty easy to tell with the coarser stones I'm more interested in how many strokes with the finer ones. Thanks

Post subject: Re: How many strokes per progression
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 7:46 pm 
Site Admin

The wise ass answer is as many as it takes.

The polite answer is you want to make sure you start with you lowest grit stone and you want to get the edge ground with that first stone. You do as many strokes as it takes to generate a burr.

Once this is complete and you know you have two nicely ground angles that meet at a point you can work up through your progression more quickly. If you want to leave some toothiness you don't want to do too many strokes. If you want to make a polished razor type edge you need to use a tight progression and make sure you are removing the scratches from the last stone. The best way to figure this out is by magnification.