It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 10:35 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: First Japanese Chef's Knife
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:49 pm 

I have what I assume is a fairly common recommendation request. I am an enthusiastic right-handed home cook with no formal training and modest knife skills looking for a chef's knife to displace the Wusthoff Classic 8-inch Chef that has been my all-around, go-to knife for the past 20 years. I'd like something that can handle light to medium work (cutting veggies, trimming and cutting meat, chopping herbs) and that is lighter, holds a sharper edge, and is more adroit than the Wusthoff. I think I want a 210mm or 240mm Gyuto, but I'm open to alternatives. I prefer stainless and probably a Japanese handle (but the latter isn't mandatory). I'm hoping to get by for less than $200 for the knife, but could be persuaded to stretch a bit if doing so would result in a big jump in value/performance.