It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 12:09 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Minimalist sharpening set wanted
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:42 pm 
Site Admin

Hi

I am a chef & have a range of Japanese knives with hardness from HRC 58 to 64. I would like a minimalist sharping set.

I had my eyes on Shapton Pro 2000 & 5000. 2000 grit to start with as I normally sharpen before my knives gets too dull. My questions are:
1. Do you think 2000 grit too high? If Yes, I am happy to start from 1000 grit.
2. Is 2000 to 8000 too much of a jump please? As this will be an alternative to the 5000 grit. Having said that, I do feel at 8000, my knives lose some bites.

I plan to flatten these on 220-320 sandpapers, which I have been doing for a long time. Is this still OK for Shapton Pro stones please?

I look forward to your reply.

Thank you.
J

Chefknivestogo Blog

Post subject: Re: Minimalist sharpening set wanted
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:47 pm 
Site Admin

Hi J.

If you want to use 2 stones and you are sharpening kitchen knives I recommend you use the 1K and then follow with the 5K. You could start with a 2K but it takes a lot more work to grind the edge with that stone than the 1K. Also you could do 1k-8K but I think you would get a better result with light pressure on a 5k to keep some of the teeth in the 1K edge you produce.

Your sandpaper flattening is no problem with the pro stones.

Chefknivestogo Blog

PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:47 pm 
Forum Moderator