It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:09 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Thoughts on a couple new knives
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:54 pm 

Hi guys,

I'm new to the forum and I. The market for a new 210 Gyuto and 270 Sujihiki. I am a Chef in the Bay Area and am right handed and sharpen my own knives. I don't really care if it is a western or Japanese handle. For the last 6 or so years I have used an 8" Masahiro stainless chefs knife. I like the thin blade and edge shape (similar to the sabatier I used before it) but I am looking for knife that lows me to take the edge to the next level. Maybe a semi stainless or something in that vein. I was looking at the konsuke HD2 or the Suisin Inox. I don't want a full carbon gyuto as that is why I retired the Sabatier to butchery (to much maintenance).

As far as the Sujihiki goes I am looking for carbon and an excellent edge.

I am looking to spend under $500 for each of the knives.

Thanks for the thoughts.

Post subject: Re: Thoughts on a couple new knives
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:04 pm 
Forum Moderator

Grizzly - check out this thread: richmond-aeb-l-laser-gyuto-vs-konosuke-hd2-gyuto-t3178.html.

And this thread: suisin-inox-versus-konosuke-hd-t2236.html

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:19 am 

First post & a relative novice to the world of high end knives - but for my two cents, as far as your gyuto, take a look at the Masakage line here on CKTG.