It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:34 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 2 of 2 [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 Post subject: Re: F Dick Polished Steel. Why is it so smoooooooth?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 1:58 am 
Forum Moderator

Erica, I'm no expert but you shouldn't need a lot of pressure during sharpening. Some real experts here have said that they exert around 1 to 2 Lbs of pressure most of the time, and less & less pressure as they finish on a particular stone and do a few stropping strokes to help deburr the edge. You need to let the stone do the work. If you are pushing hard, it will be hard to maintain consistency in your angle and you'll fatigue much too quickly.

Maybe Jason B., Ken, Shaun, or Adam et al. can weigh in here on their technique.

The 1K and 4K Glass stones are great stones, but they are very hard and definitely reward consistent and exact technique and punish the opposite. It is my opinion that if you can create really nice, correctly ground edges on the Shaptons, you can sharpen well on anything.

Once you get quite good at sharpening you should be able to knock out great edges on your knives pretty quickly - most definitely not all day :-).

Steve

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:23 am 

Yeah, pushing hard is good when grinding but not when you want to make it sharp. Your last few strokes on a stone should always be feather light.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 11:55 am 
Site Admin