It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:09 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 3 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: Thinning behind the edge
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:07 pm 

I am an ambitious but amateur sharpener trying to see if some of the more experienced sharpeners here might be able to help me with some advice on technique. Let me start by saying that I use the technique that Curtis Chung demonstrates in this video.

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/nach10supowa.html

The video is about halfway down the page. Anyway, I can't sharpen sectionally; I have tried but I am just no good at it and I feel Curtis's technique lends to more consistent sharpening for me anyway.

I have never tried to thin behind the edge before but I know it is necessary as I lose metal from sharpening. My question is can I thin behind the edge using stropping passes, as I am very comfortable with this technique, rather than using my traditional sharpening method?

I ask this because I feel like I will get better and cleaner results with the stropping passes than my sharpening method. My only issue is I feel the stropping pass will not remove much metal leaving me with poor results. Can anyone comment on my quandary or leave me with their preferred method? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Post subject: Re: Thinning behind the edge
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:49 pm 
Site Admin