It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:16 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Artifex Wa Gyuto Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:00 pm 
Site Admin

Good evening Mark:

Hope you enjoyed your holiday! Thought I was done bugging you with questions, but one more came up. I was just about to place my order when I saw the gorgeous new Artifex wa-gyuto on the homepage. I was quite sure that the AEB-L western style 210mm was the right choice, partly because I'm a home cook with small hands, and partly because my main cutting board is 18 x 12 which feels comfortable with an 8" knife. Having said that, I'd love a wa handle. Do you have a recommendation on how the two knives compare / contrast? Would 240mm feel crowded given the cutting board space? I recognize the steel is not nearly as good on the wa-gyuto, and the profile is distinctly different (could be good, could be bad). I'm open to suggestions. Based on your comments, I'll be placing my order tomorrow.

Thanks again for all of your help!

---

Bryan

Richmond Laser

Post subject: Re: Artifex Wa Gyuto Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 3:09 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Bryan,

Let me compare the two knives head to head for you. This will help others too. These are how I would rate them against one another.

Steel Hardness: Artifex Western (this helps with edge retention)
Steel Toughness: Artifex Wa (this helps with resisting chips)
Profile: Artifex Western (I prefer the shape of this knife a little over the wa)