It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 2:48 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 2 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 Post subject: Re: What's a good mid range 1K stone?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:32 pm 

Thanks for the replies! I'm a newbie when it comes to sharpening. The main reason that I got into sharpening was the cheap new "dull" kitchen knives that I got early this year. I didn't realize how dull those knives were until I got a Tojiro DP 240mm Gyuto.

The first stones I got were a set of diamond stones with the 4 different grits. I like these diamond stones mainly because they are low maintenance. Since getting the Gyuto, I started to think about getting some the water stones. I really don't care if the water stones are the splash & go ones or the soaking ones.

I have a mix bag of water stones at this point. I currently have the Naniwa SS 2000, 8000 & Green Brick (became available after I got the other two SS). I have on order the Imanishi 5000 & 8000/12000. My water stones selections good or bad was based on when I read up on the internet during my research. I'm not a fan of any particular brand at this point. I'm currently using the SS 8000 as the final step in my sharpening after using the diamond stone(s).

I'm thinking that I need to add medium grit water stone to give me a full range. Of course, I'm missing the coarse grit water stone but I think that the coarse diamond stone will handle that requirement. As for budget, I started off with a zero budget on this venture.