It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 4:10 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: Need help with honing/stropping
PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:54 pm 

I am new to the world of good knives and have been reading many conflicting posts on stropping vs honing. I just bought 2 artifex knives and a few stones and want to know the most effective way to finish my knives. I spent most of my budget already and read that I can strop on cardboard with metal polish. I dont care if I have the best edge possible, just something decently sharp. So I basically have 2 questions.

How would I go about stropping on cardboard? Ive seen some people use hard cardboard (like on the back of a notepad) and some use a regular cardboard box. Also, how much metal polish do I put on it and do I need to reapply every time I hone or is it a one time thing?

My second question is how do I maintain the edge between sharpening? Should I use a hone or just continue stropping?

I also have a wusthof grand prix 2 that I will continue to hone, unless someone thinks its better to just strop that as well.

Thanks for the help! This forum and CKTG in general is great.

Post subject: Re: Need help with honing/stropping
PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:43 pm 

Just use a fine stone, it will maintain the edge better and for longer.

Don't use a cardboard box as a strop.

The back of a notepad would be a much better choice.

Learn to use your stones before the strop becomes a crutch.