It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:49 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Subduing to stropping
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:43 pm 

Hey all, I am an amateur sharpener but I have been doing it for about a year now. I can put a pretty decent edge on a knife and i am familiar with several different techniques but I am looking for something more and I am thinking it is time to looking into strops and pastes. What is your ideal strolling setup. I am planning on purchasing boron carbide paste, a magnetic balsa strop, and a horse hide mag strop. Does this sound like a good setup using in the order listed? What do you strop with? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Post subject: Re: Subduing to stropping
PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:51 am 

Well I guess it is too late, I was expecting a response a little sooner but I went ahead and ordered the boron carbide paste, balsa mag pad, horse hide mag pad, and a felt mag pad. Planning on putting the bc paste on the balsa strop, then using the felt pad to deburr and also using it in between stones, and finally finishing on the horse hide strop. Still up for advice on the way you do it. Hoping for excellent results from the stropping, trying to take my sharpening to the next level.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:55 am