It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:00 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
 Post subject: new nakiri/honesuki
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 3:30 pm 

New to the forum obviously, names Jason and I have been sharpening and reshaping various types of metals for a few years now(one of my too many hobbies). I have a decent set of Shapton glass stones, a few Nubatama Umes and going to get some naniwa supers for polishing. Now for my question I bought my mom a few Japanese steak knives for mothers say, she used them and got crazy excited on how well they cut. Since she liked those so much I am looking into getting her a few more. I have been looking at the Masakage koishi nakiri and honesuki. I kind of like the finish on them, would think you could get less food stuck/ smoother cuts. If you guys have any opinions on them yet feel free to let me know. Also if there are any other recommendations, I would prefer blue steel since I am the one that will have to sharpen them and they might not be able to be sharpened as often as I would like. I want quality but not trying to spend more then that (could spend a little less if swayed) handle type isn't a big deal but I do think she likes the Japanese style handle on the steak knives I got her. I guess that should be everything, thanks ahead of time.

Jason

Post subject: Re: new nakiri/honesuki
PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 4:00 pm 
Forum Moderator