It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 4:25 am

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
 Post subject: Workhorse gyuto: 240mm or 270mm?
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2013 5:24 pm 

I'm a line cook and have been using a 240mm Tojiro gyuto for the past year and a half as my go to knife. I just recently purchased a konosuke hd 210mm petty for my line knife and the detailed stuff. I have always loved the length of my 240mm, but lately have been strongly considering a better and longer gyuto as an upgrade to my 240mm Tojiro.

I like the idea of having a yo handle on my workhorse for prep and everything else, but would a wa handle be better for the added length if I go with the 270mm? I'm looking hard at the kikuichi tkc...

So... Which is it: 240 pr 270? Professionals out there, does that extra 30mm help out with efficiency day in and day out or do you just end up leaving it in the bag and just use that 210 or 240? Any advice or opinions would help! I know there are some of you out there that swear by one or the other..

Post subject: Re: Workhorse gyuto: 240mm or 270mm?
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2013 6:58 pm 

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zq37b1wG-yo

This might help in your decision.

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2013 11:13 pm 

It's been a long time since I cooked pro, but would choose a 270. Longer edges stay sharper longer, and handle bigger bundles. Longer flat spot. Less handle pumping. Besides, where's the drawback?