It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 10:24 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Looking for Gyuto recommendations
PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2013 1:03 am 

Hi all,

New fora member.

I've been a serious home cook for 15+ years, and after a fair amount wear and tear, I'm finally ready to make the leap to a stronger, thinner, and more modern chef knife. I'm looking forward to retiring my well worn 10" Wusthof Classic to secondary or even tertiary use ... after a long overdue re-profiling and bolsterectomy.

To answer the standard questions:

1. Are you right handed?

A: Call me sinister, cuz I write and cut lefty in the kitchen ... but as required by tradition, I studied Iaiado righty. ;)

2. What type of knife are you interested in (gyuto, nakiri etc..)

A: At the moment, I'm looking for a Gyuto. Shape-wise, I like a little Germanic belly in my chef knives, but for the right knife I'm happy to drift a bit more French.

3. What size knife are you looking for?

A: I'm used to a 10", so I'd probably be happy with either a 240mm or 270mm.

4. Do you prefer carbon or stainless steel?

A: I've done my time with soft german stainless steels, and I'm ready for an upgrade. I'd like a modern steel with a 60+ rockwell, but I'm also happy to sacrifice a little high end performance for a very modest amount of resistance to staining and chipping/breakage. I currently dont have any plans to sharpen beyond say, 10/15 a side.