It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:23 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Stone set reccomendation
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:56 pm 

Hey Folks,

I am new to sharpening and looking into getting my first set of stones. Im looking for splash and go stones and preferably ones that also dry fast. At the moment i am considering the Arashiyama 4 piece set or a 1k and 5k Naniwa SS. I will also be purchasing a lapping plate and stone holder. Anyway's just wanted some input on these and if anyone has any reccomendations other than these. I for sure want stones that are splash and go, and hopefully one's that also dry quickly. My sharpening time is limited because my wife just had a baby, so if any of these stones make quick work out of it that would be great too. Thanks everyone!

-Chad

Post subject: Re: Stone set reccomendation
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:54 pm 

I have the Arashiyama 4 piece set. Splash and go and they soak up little water so they dry quickly. They cut quick and dish slow. I think you would like them better than the Naniwa SS because they are a harder stone.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:17 pm 
Forum Moderator

The other obvious option is the GlassStones from Shapton. Never used the Arashiyama's, so I can't comment on them.

http://marrknives.com
http://facebook.com/marrknives

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:25 pm