It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:32 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Hey easy on a new guy....but....I need a Gyuto!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:57 am 

Hello all I could some help. How to make such a complicated topic short!? I am a bit new to Japanese knives and all I can say is that this could be a bit of a rabbit hole! :shock:

I purchased a Shun Premier 149mm Nakiri Knife recently and I am happy with it as it does pulverize small veggies very well. I have a set of nice Wusthof knives that have given me good service for many years but I have ventured into Japanese and Chinese cooking, along with gardening, and it is time to make things a little less of a hassle when it comes to food preparation. I now would like a Gyuto, or Kiritsuke/Gyuto, in carbon steel, 210mm or 240mm. I am leaning to the 240mm since Japanese designs the knives are lighter and hopefully well balanced.

My wish list so far;
  • Aogami Super Steel. I picked this steel for the ability to take an edge but also it seems that this steel is tougher and would give good service. I am not wed to this ideal but it seemed like a good place to start.
  • Something that is not a featherweight, but something lighter than my Wusthof that has enough meat on the spine that gives it a little authority.
  • A grind that has a good bevel that is not a hassle to sharpen and would be in the 15 degree range and yet would have an edge that is robust.