It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 2:33 pm

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: 1st J knife purchased! lost by hotel!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:30 am 

Ive been reading this forum for about a week or two but his is my first post.

Ive been cooking for about ten years. Im on my 2nd line cook job and up until now all ive owned have been walmart knives, a kiwi(that I use daily) and a mercer 8" chef knife. After some debate I purchased a 240 fujiwara carbon suji.

I had it shipped to the hotel that I work at since im there more than my home and id rather the knife not sit outside my front door till I get home from work. I assumed itd be safer at a hotel front desk...

The knife got to work on my day off. I got the delivery notice in my email and noticed it was signed for. I figured instead of going to work on my day off, Id get the knife the next day.

I go in today and the front desk guy cant find it. I come back later when the manager is there and ask her, i mention the name that the fedex email mentioned signing for it and it was the front desk guy I asked earlier. He doesnt remember...what the box looks like, where it is, or where he put it. He "never touched it", meaning he left it on the check-in counter where the fedex guy left it, where any passing customer could have taken it from. Is it SOP to leave guest mail on a public counter next to the business cards? (rhetorical)