It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:36 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: Looking for a good value carbon gyuto.
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 1:25 am 
Site Admin

Hello,

I am fairly new to the world of Japanese knives and have done the usual internet research. I am after my first ‘good’ knife and would like to learn how to care for knives. I watched you tutorial videos on sharpening which were excellent. After a fair bit of looking I think I will order the Tojiro Shirogami ITK 240mm Wa-Gyuto. From what I have read it is not necessarily the best knife in that price range but I have a couple of reasons for wanting it:

· It’s ‘carbon steel’ (I understand that generally at the lower priced end of the scale you will get more bang for your buck from carbon over stainless, in addition it will force me to learn good care and maintenance habits before I move to more expensive knives)

· It is relatively cheap but should be a good blade for me to practice sharpening on (i.e. I won’t risk ruining a very expensive blade and I will have fun getting the best edge I can from it - later down the track I could use it to practice more advanced techniques on it like thinning and changing the angle on the edge)

Does that logic seem reasonable to you?

I will also need some sharpening equipment – In your video you recommend the Shaptan 1k stone, do you think I should also order a higher grit stone (5-6k for a more refined edge)?