It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:15 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: freehand vs ep
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:20 am 

I'm completely new to sharpening and japanese knives, i'm still have to make my first knife purchase and have been eyeing the
Sakai Takayuki Damascus Wa-Sujihiki 240mm or the fujiwara fkm stainless with a wa handle whenever it arrives. I figured i'd purchase a sharpening set to practice on my old chinese cleavers that were given to me by my parents from the china town here in houston. I'm trying to decide if I should get the new knife sharpening complete set http://www.chefknivestogo.com/knshcoset.html or spend about $50 more and get the ep essential set with the 140 diamond stone flattener http://www.chefknivestogo.com/edproesset.html http://www.chefknivestogo.com/140grdistflp.html. thank you in advance for your help.

Post subject: Re: freehand vs ep
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:27 am 

Concerning the sharpening, after my research, I would suggest the Edge Pro as best way to go. However, I would also suggest learning to hand sharpen as well and have stones for that too.

For the Edge Pro, I would suggest this set - http://www.chefknivestogo.com/edproshglsts.html

It will pretty much give you the ideal set unless you add an accessory or 2.

Real Money Fantasy Leagues

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:40 am