It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:30 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: Looking for a top of the line Nakiri
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 7:24 pm 
Site Admin

Hello Mark,
This is a follow up to the below thread and a phone message I left you yesterday.
I am new to Japanese knives, although I own a number of older Sabatier carbon kitchen knives.
I would like to purchase a nakiri as a Christmas present for a friend but would like some advice and insight about the numerous choices you have on your website. I am attracted to the classic / traditional, with ebony or rosewood handle and better / best quality steel. I am open to various finishes although, again, I am drawn to carbon or carbon clad. The damascus tends to be a bit 'flashy'. Having said that, I considered Konosuke HD, Takeda, Masakage (Kato san) or something in that range of appearance and quality.
Below you mentioned the Konosuke Ginsan. It doesn't quite fit my initial 'visions, but is it notably better than the above knives?
Thanks for the information.
Regards,
Mike

Chefknivestogo Blog

Post subject: Re: Looking for a top of the line Nakiri
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 7:37 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Mike,
Yes I was going to call you this afternoon. Emails are actually better for me.

I think I have a good idea from your email what you want. You listed some favorites and I'll add a couple.

Here are some excellent quality carbon or carbon clad knives that you should consider.