It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:17 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Shapton Pros only good for soft steel?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:11 pm 
Site Admin

Hello there, I’m new to sharpening and whetstones and I have been reading a lot about the different stones on the market and watching videos on sharpening. I wanted to purchase a set of stones for my personal use in sharpening my kitchen knives. I ordered the 3 stone set of Shapton Pro stones in 1k , 5k, 8k. They are currently on their way from your store to my house. After doing some more reading I read that these stones may not be able to sharpen stones above 60 on the hardness scale. But the other Shapton stones would be able to handle all knifes of different hardness. My knifes at the moment are only in the 56 to 58 range but I do plan on purchasing better knifes than what I currently own. Which would put me in the 60 or harder range. If what I read was true then I may be better with a different stone or the other Shapton stones you sell. Can you clarify this for me?