It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 10:54 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 
 Post subject: new to jnats
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:44 pm 

Hey guys, so I've been sharpening heavy now for about 2 years. I've got a few high end knives, white #1 and some 52100 carbon. I learned how to sharpen on naniwa ss : 400, 1000, 5000 & kitayama 8000. I've learned through trial and err and by reading through the forum and watching all the videos I can find, you guys have helped me out a great deal and I thank you all. I've been really interested in jnats but wanted to take it slow, one step at a time. I finally decided its time and I ordered an Aoto-tanba from Kameoka off of the AframesTokoyo site. It was listed as a 6.7 for softness, I like soft muddy stones. I'm wondering if anyone can give me any info on this stone and should I lacquer the bottom and sides? Or mount? Thank you.

Post subject: Re: new to jnats
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:30 pm 

I've tried a handful of natural aoto and a couple Monzen from Ken, but not any of the aoto from aframes, so take what i say with a grain of salt. Based on my experience and what I've heard from stone dealers, it's very hard to find good quality natural aoto these days. A lot of what's available now is too soft, too coarse, and/or has rogue particles that can scratch up the finish that you're working so hard to put on your knife.