It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 1:50 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: New to free hand sharpening. 5 questions.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 8:15 pm 
Site Admin

Good Morning?

Let me begin by saying I am completely new to the knife sharpening word. Knife sharpening has always meant pulling the blade through a hand held sharpener and off to cutting. All has now changed. Throughout the past year I received a nice SHUN set of knives from my wife as well as a few nice Kershaw pocket knives. The mere thought of running one of these through my "Ron Popeil" easy sharpener mortifies me.
For weeks now I have been been looking over every style of sharpening available from Edge Pro and Wicked Edge systems to cheap old pocket stones. Wow, does everyone have an opinion. So I have decided that I want to learn how to sharpen on water stones. Not only learn but become another "Self proclaimed expert"(seems to be a lot of them). Luckily for me I have an army of old dull knives just chomping at the bit to be sharpened for practice before I touch my newest knives. I found your "Knife Sharping for Noobs" Video line to be about the best out there but would still like to ask you a few questions before I order some stones.

1) Will these stone usable on all my knives..Pocket and Kitchen?
2) With practice and more practice are the results as good with freehand stones as they are with an Edge Pro or Wicked Edge.