It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 9:53 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: New Japanese knife for a culinary student.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:50 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Mark,

My name is Chris Cibas and I am a culinary arts student in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Now that I am starting to get more comfortable with knives and my Wusthof Cordon Bleu 9" Chef Knife, I am becoming interested in acquiring a japanese knife.

I did a lot of research and am leaning towards a Konosuke HD. Thinking about the 270mm Gyuto. Thoughts? I guess my only fear is it being a bit too long...but I think I can handle that length and get used to it.

Anyways, I was wondering about getting a quote for one and had some questions...

1) I noticed they are out of stock...do you know when you will have some back in stock? Can you just order one?

2) Is it possible to get the length to be closer to 250-260mm?

3) I am thinking about the Ebony octagonal handle, but was wondering if it can be made with an Ebony handle with white buffalo ferrule and end cap so it goes light/dark/light?

4) Is there any chance the knife could be taylored to include a Damascus pattern on both sides or even 1 side?

5) What would shipping cost to Canada (M9P3E2) - Toronto area?

What are your thoughts on the Silver 3 line?...specifically this knife - http://www.chefknivestogo.com/kowasi27ho.html ?