It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:40 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
 Post subject: Line gyuto?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:25 am 

Hi, I work in a professional kitchen where I prep my own station (hot and cold) every day. I am looking for a knife that can stick with me on line as well as during prep times. I prep a lot of things ranging from dicing hard squash to chiffonading tarragon to slicing thin cuts of tuna. When I started as a dishwasher/prep cook, I bought a Shun 8 inch santoku and have been using it ever since. But, I'm looking for a more serious upgrade at a lower price point. I'd like to keep it under $100 because I'm still trying to learn how to take care of my knives better. I'm learning how to sharpen my knife right now but I'm not that good at it yet, so I'd like to have the room to learn how to treat a nicer knife nicely.

1. Are you right handed? Yes
2. What type of knife are you interested in (gyuto, nakiri etc..): gyuto?
3. What size knife are you looking for? 210mm (I'm a woman, with woman-like hands)
4. Do you prefer carbon or stainless steel? stainless
5. Do you prefer a western handle or a Japanese handle? japanese handle
6. How much did you want to spend? ~ $100
7. Do you know how to sharpen? Not well.