It is currently Tue Dec 23, 2014 2:27 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Knife Information
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:27 pm 

Hello knife addicts,

I'm new to the world of knives and Japanese steel.

However, I've been a butcher for the last 14 years and having completed my first year at The Culinary Institute of America, I'm looking to replace my school's 8inch "german" steel chef's knife with a better workhorse knife.

I've held some 8 to 10inch Japanese knifes at the local store, but was directed to your website while looking up different metal types.

I find the longer knifes have a better balance / hand feel to me as the forearm on my cutting arm is fairly strong / above average.
I was wondering if I could get any information on the type of steel, and care for also any information or comparable knifes, I've spent my entire career with knifes, but my butcher shop we usually got cheap steel due to the amount of against the bone work we do and didn't want to bang up expensive pieces of steel.

Konosuke White #2 Fujiyama Gyuto 270mm

I own an edge pro apex sharpening system, and that Gyuto is in my budget and about the size that is comfortable for me.

Thank you in advance,

A butcher turned cook and hopefully chef.

Post subject: Re: Knife Information
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:38 pm 
Site Admin

The Konosuke is a great knife.