It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:01 pm

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
 Post subject: Kaneshige White #3 Deba
PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 8:35 pm 

http://www.chefknivestogo.com/kawh3de18.html

About me

I'm not a professional chef, but I do enjoy cooking in my home kitchen. I generally cook for the two of us, but we do have another couple over from time to time, as well as having 10-12 over for Holidays.

I've had Japanese knives for quite a while now, but my previous ones were purchased "hands on" and most in Japan, so this was a new experience for me.

Why a deba?

My wife had been suggesting that we eat more fish at home, but finding good fish in San Francisco seems harder than one might imagine for a former seaport. It is always hit-or-miss at Whole Foods here, and most of the local fish markets tend to cater to the low-end market and reek like stale fish. There are couple around that don't have scary health-department records, but their selection of fillets tends to be pretty limited. So, I was lucky enough to be able to take a class on classic Japanese fish butchery from a local sushi chef. Everything from scaling through filleting -- just what I needed. While I was doing OK with a santoku and a Victorinox chef's knive (for cleaving the head off), I wasn't getting the results I had with the deba.

Why this deba?