It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:47 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: How to spend $300 on knives?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 5:16 pm 
Site Admin

Discovered your site a couple of weeks ago and have been educating, or confusing, myself with all the different options available in kitchen knives. I am a modest home cook and am looking to upgrade the mess of knives that I have acquired over the years. I am looking to spend about $300 or so to start, and cannot figure out what to purchase for my first go. I would be replacing all my knives so I would think a larger bladed chief’s knife and a pairing knife (in western terms) would be necessary. If you could give me some guidance on what to look at i would appreciate the assistance.

I do use and collect pocket knives so I am familiar with knife care and basic sharpening. I presently use a Spyderco Sharpmaker, but want to do more hand sharpening so I am also interested in your selection of sharpening stones.

I was happy to see you are located in Madison, WI. I was born and raised outside of Madison and got my BS (chemistry, math, and physics) and PhD (chemistry) from the UW. Hope to return back to Madison when I am through working. It’s a beautiful city.

Thank you for the help and I understand if you are too busy to answer my questions. I look forward to supporting a Madison small business.

Best Regards,

Craig

Chefknivestogo Blog

Post subject: Re: How to spend $300 on knives?