It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 7:51 pm

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: How to set a primary and secondary bevel using EP?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:07 pm 

Hi. First post on this forum so wanted to introduce myself and thank the community for all I've learned so far. I'm a complete newbie to the world of knife sharpening and now find myself jumping in with both feet.....

Would appreciate it if anybody could point me in the right direction so I can educate myself on my most common upcoming use case? I have an EP on the way and after I get over my initial learning curve I could use some help before I do too much damage. I tried searching but I'm not sure I know the right keywords to use.

Question: I think my question is what procedure do I use on an EP to set a primary and secondary bevel on the Henckel 4 Stars I've had thinned (right term?) to 15*?

Use Case:

- Have about a dozen Henckel 4 stars of various shapes and sizes.
- In case it matters these are the older 4 stars. Bought all of them used before 1998.
- A while ago I had their angles reduced to 15* by a local sharpener.
- I think but can't confirm he set a primary and secondary bevel.

I know I want to keep these knives at 15* once I start sharpening them with my EP.

Would a good procedure be for me to:

- Start fresh and set an initial edge at say 18*?
- Then repeat the same process at 15*?