It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:59 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 3 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: Honesuki recommendation?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:27 pm 

Hi, all! I searched the old forum posts, but I think I still need a little help choosing a specific knife.

Background (skip if you want!): I am a home cook, but quite advanced. I've used German knives most of my life (including my Grandmother's carbon steel knives--she was an accomplished cook, sometimes professional). However, in the last ten years I've been more and more interested in Japanese knives. I bought a Ken Onion by Shun to get my feet wet. My most recent knife purchase is a Kohetsu Aogami Super 270mm Gyuto. I wanted to try a bigger knife for bigger cutting tasks and it is great. I love that knife!

My problem/need: I break down and roast chickens several times a week. I'm too cheap to buy them already cut. After all, I could spend that money on a knife, right? ;) And I prefer chicken breasts on the bone. So, I'm hoping for a recommendation for a knife that will be great for cutting up chicken, and specifically one that I won't destroy cutting through the breast. I know, right? :roll: Knife abuse and I want help with it. I don't hack at the chicken; I break it down correctly--that's what joints are for. I just want to also keep the breast on the bone to protect it in the high heat roast and to give it extra flavor.

The questions:
1. Are you right handed? Yes.