It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:47 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: From oil to water
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:30 pm 

Hello All,
First off, I thought I knew something about sharpening and knives that was until I found this site and Mark's videos. Hats off to you sir!!!

I am a home want-a-be chef who values and understands the importance of good sharp knives. I don't have good knives-hopefully changing soon-, but I try to keep them sharp. I've been using Arkansas stones for my knives and edged tools-I also dabble in woodworking-for years and made the mistake of using them as oil stones when I first used them and now really wish I had started with water.

In any event, I want to switch over to water stones. I believe they will produce a better edge then the Arkansas stones on the high-carbon steel knives I plan to upgrade to. Plus I would rather the mess of a water stone in the kitchen than the mess of oil. My problem is tight budget and not sure what grade of water stone to replace each oil stone with. I am going to slowly replace the stones I have for the water stones and used them both until I have a complete set of water stones for my knives. Any problem with doing that besides having to clean the blade thoroughly before going from oil to water.
Here's what I have: Washiba Arkansas
Soft Arkansas
Hard Arkansas surgical black - I have seen this compared to a 4000 grit water stone, true???