It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:59 am

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: First Gyuto
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:23 am 

This website is the reply I get from every chef in the town I'm from when I ask them where they get their knives from.

I am a prep/line cook and I am most comfortable with a 240mm chefs knife. I am more interested in a life time home knife, than a work knife. I am not sure what brand of knife I want, or what type of steel I should get.

I am drawn to the Takeda Classic 240, based mainly on the look of the knife. It just looks like a piece of art because of how rustic it looks. I am thinking that I want to get a knife that is something special, that will make me happy every time I take it out at home.

At the same time, I am reading a lot of reviews on knives that are work horses in a professional kitchen. I think I am going to buy a "cheaper" knife for work, that is a little more durable, with less care required.