It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 1:04 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Cutting board size vs size of knife?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:43 pm 

For the experienced out there I have a question, I've just received my first end grain cutting board , it's a 450mm x 450mm board, I'm a home cook with moderate knife skills.
What is the ideal Gyuto blade length to work on this size board?
210mm, 240mm, 270mm

I have medium size hands and prefer the Wa handle, and use the pinch grip

Thanks, Allen

Post subject: Re: Cutting board size vs size of knife?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:05 pm 

I was always told that if the knife fit diagonally on the board without going over at either corner, then the board was big enough for the knife. The overall length of most 270mm gyutos I've seen is less than 450mm (often around 410-420) so by this logic it should be no problem on a board of this size.

I prefer using a 240mm and my primary board is only 12" by 18", or roughly 300mm x 460mm. So a 240mm would certainly be a fine size on yours.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:08 pm 
Forum Moderator

Allen, for us Yanks, that's about 17.7" x 17.7" :-).

Some have said if you can fit the knife diagonally on the board, corner to corner, then the board is large enough for that knife.