It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:50 am

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Convex edges or not
PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 9:46 pm 

Convex ~ V edge-p1.jpg [16.72 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
I am new to using bench stones I also use an Edge Pro pro . Now it is possible to convex on the EP by say on a Global thin the blade at 10˚ and then put a micro bevel on at 15˚ then grind at 14-13-12-11˚ and strop the steps out .
To learn control on the bench stones I have tried to hold a steady bevel or micro bevel which is not too difficult when retouching an existing bevel.
My technique improves with practice I have tried to do one or two knives often with new bevels every day for the past month and a half. I am quite happy with the results sometimes especially when putting a thinning bevel on I will convex this slightly then try to put a straight micro bevel onto the edge which I do with the finishing stone or I take the convex to the edge and convex through to the finishing stone.
Now which is best say for a ~Yanagi or a Fugubiki should I aim for straight or convex bevels ? What is correct?
I think possible the best edges I have achieved are a combination so a slight convex bevel to the edge with a straight micro bevel done with the finishing stone .
I can see that a convex edge possible has a smaller contact area with what it is cutting but I am slightly confused as to which is the most suitable or recognised as correct ,