It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:32 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 2 [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Carbon gyuto
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:08 am 

I've read through previous answers, and strangely enough, each poster seems to have settled on a different set of candidates before even asking what to get.

Some background: I'm a home cook. I've used a 10" French carbon chef's knife for years. I also have a Japanese petty which I like (but it's too long to substitute for my regular parer), a very heavy carbon deba (which I never use, because I don't really know how), and a Masamoto KS carbon yanagiba (which I bought many years ago in Japan when it was much cheaper). I ***love*** the edge on the yanagiba, but don't use it much because a yanagiba is pretty specialized and anyway I'm always worried that I'll wreck it -- I once didn't wipe it down carefully enough, and a droplet of water left a rust nick on the edge (now repaired).... Last year, I was given a Shun Ken Onion cleaver. Though I don't like its size, shape, thickness, or weight, I find myself using it surprisingly often because the edge is much better than my chef's knife.

So now I'm looking for a chef's knife with the edge of the Masamoto KS but not so finicky.

Having read various forums, it sounds like a carbon or semi-stainless 240mm gyuto is what I'm looking for.