It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:36 pm

Welcome
Welcome to chefknivestogo

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Page 1 of 3 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: 8k edge
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 4:47 pm 

So, I'm very very new to sharping and have been using an EP essential kit along with an additional 8K shapton. I find myself wondering if the 8K edge might be a bit too refined for some ingredients. It is an incredibly refined and smooth edge, but I almost feel that just a tiny, tiny bit more tooth might be more versatile. The 4K seems to be just a touch too course. I'm thinking maybe 6K? Any thoughts?

Post subject: Re: 8k edge
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:33 pm 

I will finish anywhere between a 2k and a 6k edge. Honestly, for me, it is more a function of whether or not I like the knife and how much time I have to sharpen as to where I finish :roll:.

Typically anything with Hitachi steels, AEB-L, etc I take up to my Arashiyama 6k stone. Anything western or cheap I leave at a 2k Green Brick. I do have a Naniwa 8k Super Stone, besides not liking the stone much, I also don't find that I get any performance back on my time investment on that stone.

Now the 8k is part of my progression for straights, but that is another story...

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:45 pm